facebook facebook facebook

Adult Services

Branch Libraries

Children's Services



Library Card


Research Tools

Search Catalog


*NEW!* Young Adult Services

Email the Library  

Atkinson County Library Constitution


The name of the library shall be the Atkinson County Library, which currently consists of Pearson and Willacoochee, hereinafter referred to as Atkinson County Library.

This Constitution and Bylaws are a companion document to the Constitution and Bylaws of the Satilla Regional Library System and are intended to clarify local practices and the relationship of the local library to the regional system. There is to be no conflict between provisions of this Constitution and Bylaws and those of the Satilla Regional Library System. If inadvertent conflict occurs, the Regional Constitution and Bylaws shall govern. The Atkinson County Library shall furnish library service to the people of the County as set forth in the Constitution and Bylaws of the Satilla Regional Library System and under the regulations governing public libraries as set forth by the State of Georgia. The Atkinson County Library shall offer a full program of library service to all citizens of the county to meet their informational, educational and recreational needs.

The Atkinson County Library is a member of the Satilla Regional Library System under the terms of the participating agreement. Member¬ship in the Satilla Regional Library System provides the citizens of Atkinson County with reciprocal borrowing privilege in all libraries in the system. Likewise, the Atkinson County Library lends materials to citizens of all other counties within the Regional Library System.

Section 1. The Atkinson County Library Board of Trustees shall be composed of 12 members appointed by the governmental agencies financially supporting the library on a regular basis. The County Commissioners appoint 4 members; the Pearson City Council appoints 2 members; the Atkinson County Board of Education appoints 4 members; The Willacoochee City Council appoints 2 members as specified in the Bylaws and the State law.

Section 2. The term of office shall be three years, with starting and ending dates corresponding to the state’s fiscal year. No member may serve on this board for more than two successive three-year terms of office. A former member may be re-appointed to the board by one of the funding agencies after an absence of a year or more.

Section 3. Any person appointed to the Atkinson County Library Board must be a resident of Atkinson County. If he/she moves his/her legal residence outside the county, he/she shall be replaced on the Board.

Section 4. Vacancies shall be filled in the same manner as appointments are made. If a vacancy occurs prior to the expiration of a trustee’s term, the new appointee shall complete the unexpired term.

Section 5. Board members shall receive no compensation but may be reimbursed for any reasonable and necessary expenses incurred in the per¬formance of library business, or if stipulated in the terms of any bequest or gift. Membership dues or fees for individual membership of board members in state, regional, and national library associations may be paid from operating funds.

Section 6. The Atkinson County Library System shall appoint members to represent it on the Satilla Regional Library Board as follows: One member for each 10,000 population or fractional part thereof with a minimum of two. The county population shall be based on the Georgia Office of Planning and Budget for the up coming year. The library director shall notify each county Board in January of each year if population changes occur that would affect the number of regional board members for that county. These changes shall be reflected in the April minutes and a copy of the minutes shall be forwarded to the Georgia Public Library Services of the Board of Regents. Any changes in the number of board members will become effective July 1 of that year.

Section 1. The officer of the Board of Trustees shall be a Chairman, a Vice-Chairman, and a Secretary elected from those serving on the Board. These officers shall perform the duties prescribed by the Bylaws and by the parliamentary authority adopted by the Regional Library Board.

Section 2. Nominations shall be made by a committee of three Board members appointed by the Chairman of the Board. The Chairman and/or the Director may serve as one of the members of the nominating committee. An officer is elected for a two-year term and may not succeed himself/herself.

Section 3. The officers shall be elected at the July meeting to serve for two years or until their successors are elected, and their terms of office shall begin at the close of the meeting at which they are elected. Section 4. If the Regional Board delegates to the County Library Board the activity of receiving gifts, the County Library Board must appoint a treasurer from among its members, who shall serve the same terms and on the same conditions as other officers of the County Library Board.

Section 1. An Executive Committee, composed of the officer of the Board, shall be entrusted to govern in the name of the Board of Trustees between meetings of the Board.

Section 1. Standing committees may be the Finance Committee, the Personnel Committee, the Building and Grounds Committee, and the Committee on Constitution and Bylaws. Other special committees may be appointed by the Chairman as needed.

This Constitution may be amended at any regular meeting of the Board of Trustees by a two-thirds vote of the members present, provided that notice is made in writing at least two weeks prior to the meeting, and provided that a quorum is present. All amend¬ments to the Constitution will be filed with the Director of the Satilla Regional Library and the Georgia Public Library Services of the Board of Regents immediately upon adoption.

***Updated on January 11, 2005:

Back to Top